What does Peace mean to you?

The Oxford dictionary defines peace as:

‘freedom from disturbance; tranquillity, including mental or emotional calm or a state or period in which there is no war or a war has ended’

Understanding what peace means to you is the first step towards finding peace for yourself and making peace with others.

At events across the North East of England, Space for Peace have been asking people in local communities what peace means to them. Here are a few of the responses;

‘Being with friends’   ‘A bath on my own’   ‘Me and my kids are safe’   ‘No fighting’

‘When I don’t have to say no to the kids’    ‘When I don’t have to stress about money’

‘Not feeling like I’m no good’   ‘When everyone is calm’  ‘Being happy’  ‘No shouting’

”When my partner respects me’   ‘Not living in fear’   ‘A glass of wine’   ‘No homework’

‘Being able to be in my house without noise of neighbours’    ‘A hug’   ‘No war’

‘No hitting’   ‘Being friends with my sister’  ‘Quiet’   ‘When mum and dad don’t fight’

‘Politicians stop competing and listen to the people they serve’

For most people peace is personal not global, to truly make peace we need to start with ourselves.

If you want to find out more about Space for Peace find us on Facebook, Twitter or Youtube  and tell us what peace means to you.

Leave a Reply

